I don’t wanna grow up!!!

So in the midst of the Harry Potter theme music that is cycling through my overly burdened brain, the Toys R Us song (you know…I don’t wanna grow up…I’m a Toys R Us kid…) has been making the rounds, as well. This makes me realize something about myself. I DON’T WANNA GROW UP!

And DAMN IT! I already have!!! – I think.

Let’s look at the facts – I have an education (still working on that master’s, I swear), a career, a husband, a home, a Pineapple, past family issues/hang-ups/baggage that occasionally keeps me awake at nights…do these things qualify me as a grownup?

Or is it the massive student loan debt, the mortgage payments, hospital bills, the fact that I do my own taxes, or fiscal responsibility in general that qualifies me for the adult table during holidays?

Lately, I’ve been daydreaming of the days when I would wake up at my leisure, roll out of bed, enjoy a healthy bowl of Fruity Pebbles and Trix blended together (my thighs just threw up at the very thought) and relax in front of some cartoons before making my way outside to play until the streetlights dimmed. Or even better, those high school years (yes, I’m one of those sick people who actually enjoyed high school – so sue me)…hanging out with my friends, shopping, dancing/cheerleading practice (yep, I’m one of those girls, too – minus the mean) – easy friendships and comaradarie that didn’t require more than a “gimmy a Y.”

These days, I can count the number of “friends” I have on one hand (well, at least the ones I have regular contact with outside of FB). Who has TIME for friends?! <see all of the responsibilities listed above> And time for myself to vedge and enjoy a carb overload treat??? Fuggetaboutit – I have dinner to make and bathtime to wrange and reading time and singing time and bedtime. Whatever happened to those happy-go-lucky times? Nowadays, I’m just happy when DH can pick Pineapple up from daycare!!! It feels like a true break.

Given this new grownup world I find myself plopped into, who can blame me for indulging in a few “childish” things? Who could fault me for my sick Twilight obsession (squeeeee – the next movie is only 127 days away)? And I challenge anyone to waggle their finger at me for “wasting” a perfectly good, most likely sunny, summer Sunday morning at the theater watching Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. Because that’s where I’m gonna be folks. Pineapple is going to church with grandma and I’m going to see a movie for children about witchcraft. Nanny. Nanny. Boo. Boo.

(I will however refrain from wearing my Harry Potter glasses and carrying my wand…misplaced those after the book 7 release anyway…or maybe DH stole them….that darned DH.)

2 thoughts on “I don’t wanna grow up!!!

  1. mutinousmom says:

    I know what you mean. I’m still waiting for summer vacation, always, every day. But it never comes. I long to be bored.
    How was the movie?

    • It was GREAT! I loved it – I thought they did an excellent job of telling the story and there was so much adorable, teen angsty humor! My husband was less pleased because he expected constant epic battles – clearly, he hasn’t read the books yet – he’s driving me nutso with that, BTW. Go see it! But leave the littler kiddos at home. :S

Leave a comment