Are they called “memes” because they’re all about Me – Me – Me?

So, @BOREDmommy tagged me for a meme and because I’m trapped in the PDX airport (FOR 3 FRIGGIN’ HOURS) on my way to #blogher09, I thought I’d take advantage of this time to complete the task. Thank you @BOREDmommy for providing me with a distracting activity! : )

For better or worse…here goes:

Here is my first meme (pronounced meem – really?) Anywho, here she goes:

1. Who is the hottest movie star?

I know it’s cheesy, but I have to tell you that in my personal opinion, DH is a superhottie (my own, personal movie star) but if I had to pick someone actually famous, it would hands down, without a doubt be Ryan Reynolds.

ryan_reynolds

ARE YOU KIDDING ME WITH THE HOTNESS?! I swear, this guy could light matches just by looking at them! He is so pretty and so funny and soooo damned hot. Ouch. Just burned my fingers typing his name. Plus, he’s hilarious in Just Friends. He’s also married to ScarJo (she just makes life seem a little less fair). Aaaand, in Blade 3 (yes, I own this movie b/c of Ryan) he gets all oiled up and chained to a floor to be tortured by vampires in order to save a little girl!!! (I totally believe he would do this in real life, too.) My sister and I used to have “at home happy hour” and pause the movie at this scene so we’d have something pretty to look at.

blade

You’re welcome. 

2. Apart from your house and your car, what’s the most expensive item you’ve ever bought?

I’m not certain that she’s an ITEM, per se, but I would have to see the next most expensive item would be Pineapple. She is EXPENSIVE. Just getting the hospital to let us take her wasn’t cheap and then factor in all the times I’m in Target and just HAVE to have the cute Carter outfit/pajamas/shorts/top/or stuff by Circo, too because really, it’s so cheap/toys and gear/because they’re all on saaaaaale! and I’m quite certain we’ll be in the poorhouse before we reach her 1st birthday (which is a month away so if you know of any poorhouses in the PDX area, help a girl out).

3. What’s your most treasured memory?

Aside from the birth of Pineapple – which goes without saying as being an extraordinarily memorable moment – I would have to say that my most treasured memory would be my wedding day. DH and I were married in Jamaica at 10AM (so it would still be “cool” – haha) and immediately after the ceremony (which, not surprisingly, if you know me, I GIGGLED ALL THE WAY THROUGH), the entire wedding party hopped on a catamaran and rode out to a lagoon where we swam and enjoyed ourselves. The ride there was incredible but the lagoon was stunning. And since I don’t have a single picture of that moment of my life, it is incredibly precious. It was my first exciting adventure as a married woman and it is priceless.

4. What was the best gift you ever received as a child?

Don’t LAUGH! Baby chickens. I know – it’s weird but I’m from Louisiana and when I was little, these were the Easter gift to receive. 

Every year for Easter when I was little, my sister and I would receive a baby chicken in my Easter basket from the Easter bunny. Sometimes they were died pink or blue. Oh lawd this sounds awful! I’ll need to do a post on this…it’s a fun fact about my childhood. Anyway, this was before I even knew what PETA was (my parents may still be unaware) and my Papaw had a chicken coop so they always went to live there. We had some of those chicks for YEARS! They were small and cute and fluffy and awesome. Don’t tell PETA.

5. What’s the biggest mistake you’ve made?

I refuse to answer this question honestly on principle. Some things should just be private *cough* <had Pat O’Brien’s Hurricanes in New Orleans during Mardi Gras and woke up the next morning (fully clothed, thank you very much) next to about 20 people I didn’t know feeling like I was going to die for sure> *cough* WHO SAID THAT?! Ignore that person.

Honestly – it was passing up all 3 of my scholarships for Marine Biology programs because my dad told me I’d be poor and never have time for a family…when in reality, he didn’t want me to move that far away. For the record, he regrets this, as well.

6. 4 words to describe yourself:

silly – odd – funny (at least I think I’m funny, and that’s what matters…right?) – emotional

7. What was your highlight or lowlight of 2008?

In 2008, I bought a house and had a baby. Aside from the fact that my wallet is decidedly slimmer, I’d say 2008 was a good year for me.

8. Favorite film?

This question always kills me. My immediate response is “what genre”? Who can pick?! So, here’s how I categorize them:

From childhood: The Labyrinth, Teen years: Girls Just Want to Have Fun, Young Adult: The Matrix, Now: What’s playing?

9. Tell me one thing I don’t know about you.

I make a mean bloody mary. Yum. Yum. Yum. Seriously, DH and I should get awards for not constantly being a wee bit tipsy. They are that good. Also, I’m a good dancer…even tho I’m a bit of a klutz.

10. If you were a comic book/strip or cartoon character, who would you be?

BUFFY_THE_VAMPIRE_SLAYER

Buffy the Vampire Slayer. She is my idol. And she’s so pithy!!! Well, Joss is, but, ya know…

OK – so now for the tagging…

back at you @BOREDmommy

@countryfried – B/c she’s southern and I’d love to hear another southern girl’s responses

@mamanotes

@motherbumper

I picked the funniest gals, IMHO. Hopefully they won’t block me now – b/c that would just be SAD and I would have to stalk them under a different account (be warned). hehe.

4 thoughts on “Are they called “memes” because they’re all about Me – Me – Me?

  1. irreverentmommy says:

    Oh, thank you for the Ryan pics. Yum. I’d forgotten about all that is Ryan. He’s the reason I own The Amityville Horror, he can chop my wood anytime. And by “chop wood” I totally mean “plow me from behind”.

Leave a Reply

