Daddies Do OK

DH shared some interesting daddy-daughter bonding moments which he experienced while I was recently out of town for Blissdom. So, I thought I’d share them with you….

According to DH, Pineapple is the ‘safety police.’ She goes straight for things she shouldn’t be touching, reminding you that you haven’t taken enough security measures. For example, just as he finished vacuuming, Pineapple spotted a missed hair band on the floor. As DH walked over to take it from her, she looked directly at him and popped it into her mouth. He had to pry it out and neither party was pleased by the process.

Apparently she is very resourceful. She was unable to reach the lotion basket on her changing table, so she pulled her activity table over and used it to climb up and dig in the basket. DH informs me that lotion is a b^%ch to clean up.

When Pineapple is quiet, there is naughtiness afoot. DH says he was cleaning up the breakfast dishes while Pineapple played <loudly> in her room. After a few moments, he realized it had gotten pretty quiet in there. So he went to check and found that he’d forgotten to move her changing table bins to the top of the table. There were diapers scattered all over the room and Pineapple was sitting in a pile of wipies which she had removed from the oversized tub.

Finally, a constant battle over the weekend took the form of Pineapple’s repeated attempts to follow the cat under the baby gate. Clearly, she wouldn’t fit. But DH tells me that it wasn’t for lack of trying. She also got sort of stuck at one point..and she knows how to say ‘stuck’…only it doesn’t sound like ‘stuck’….you get the drift. She did not appreciate being regularly removed from the floor under the baby gate – nor did she appreciate that darned cat who kept running away!

He also managed to successfully deal with pink eye! Pineapple awoke Saturday morning with two bloodshot, oozy eyes. DH cleaned them and when he realized they needed to be cleaned again only an hour later, he called the doctor. Medication was prescribed and he collected it from the pharmacy and became the ‘eye drop champ.’ (She still won’t let me do it but doesn’t even squirm when he puts the drops in her eyes.)

They also had some lovely moments. They enjoyed Sesame Street in the wee hours of the morning, they played lots of games (including chase the dog – which is not a mom-approved activity) and read lots of books. All in all, I think he did a very good job while I was gone…which makes me feel much better about the fact that I’m heading out for Mom 2.0 next week!

Please share your ‘Daddy isΒ in Charge’ stories – I’d love to hear them – and let me know if you’re going to Mom 2.0! I’d love to grab coffee…or a cocktail…or both! πŸ™‚

XOXO Rachael

12 thoughts on “Daddies Do OK

  1. I love when the parent who doesn’t normally do the majority of the parenting gets a taste of what a day in the life is like. πŸ™‚ I don’t want to specify men because I do know a wonderful stay at home dad who is beyond awesome and his wife is one lucky chick. Do you know that he actually bakes pies and bread? And no, he doesn’t belong to me, although I have a husband who does floors and keeps me from being a sad client on Hoarders. He is also the one in charge of my soon to be 7 year old daughter’s birthday party. So I win too!

    I didn’t mean to hijack your blog and make it all about me. I really didn’t. Kudos to your DH for doing a fantastic job while you were away!

    • LOL! Feel free to hijack any old time – I love hearing from you! And oddly enough, my DH does floors, too! But he doesn’t bake…at all…he barely cooks 😦 but he does TRY.

      And seriously, the Hoarders comment…I’m assuming you’ve seen that show…it is CRAZY!!! No?!

      Please share details about your girlie’s party! I have to think ahead!
      XOXO Rachael

      • Well, we wimped out and we are having her party at the Fun Factory. Pretty easy. We bring the cake and they provide the loot bags, the entertainment and a room for us to have the cake in.

        Here’s a link to our little Saskatchewan party zone. http://www.thefunfactory.ca/home.php

        For the most part, we get to just sit back and relax while the kids just play.

        And yes, I DO watch Hoarders. It is like a train wreck…you just can’t look away…or NOT watch! GAH! I could easily go down that road. Here’s hoping DH outlives me.

  2. I love it! I was cracking up w/all of Pineapple’s antics and all of the cleaning up Daddy had to do…lol…Didn’t laugh over the pinkeye though – that sux 😦

    But yeah, Daddy’s do do ok (not to be confused w/doodoo as in poop…lol). I was halfway around the world for 10 days last March/April and pDaddy did a good job working from home and taking care of the girls. He even did ALL the laundry! Granted, they were all folded in the corner and not put away, but hey, can’t push it, ya know?

    PS – Left you something on my blog πŸ™‚

    • DH is the master of “doing the laundry.” This means that he washes it and piles it on our bed, unfolded, to be unceremoniously dumped onto the floor at night when we both wearily creep under the covers. πŸ˜‰

      And I SAW that on your blog! I need to go grab it and get that done – a LOT of things make me pretty darned happy! πŸ™‚

  3. Go, Dad! Sounds like he had a lot to contend with! I like when dads get a true taste of just how tough 1-on-1 w/ the kid can be. Sounds like Pineapple put him through the ringer. πŸ™‚

    I’ll never forget the time I left my firstborn with his first bottle of pumped milk ever & my DH decided it wasn’t coming out fast enough so he gouged a bigger hole in the nipple with a paring knife.

    • What is it about guys? They always want to make the hole bigger…DH did this too – in fact, I caught him and his brother talking about it and deciding that adding some extra holes with a straight pin was the best way to do it! πŸ˜› Men. They are such silly animals! Thank heaven they have us! πŸ™‚

  4. Dad bonding time is the best! However, between the two of us, my husband is Mr. protective and worrier. So, usually when I’m away, I’m getting phone calls that make everything seem a little more serious than they need to be. It’s so great that your husband was such a trooper – even with pink eye!!

    BTW, pulling the wipes out of the dispenser is an ongoing event at our house as well πŸ™‚

    Erica

    • Hey Erica! πŸ™‚

      That’s so funny – I’m seriously the overprotective worrier in the family – DH takes everything in stride. If I’d been with Pineapple that morning (the pink-eye morning) we’d have been at the urgent care clinic within the hour. DH just calmly called in, explained the symptoms and picked up the prescription. When I got home, it looked AWFUL but she’s doing much better now! πŸ™‚

      Miss ya!

Leave a Reply

