The Chipmunks & Chipettes Will Rock You Like a Hurricane…or so I hear

Did you hear? Alvin & the Chipmunks – The Squeakquel is out on DVD and Blu-Ray disc today! I know this because my friends over at Fox Home Entertainment sent me a copy of the movie and boy did we watch it!…again…and again…and again. :p

The “munk-munks” as they are now fondly referred to around our house were a HUGE hit – to say the least. A while back, I did a review of Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs, and I mentioned that Pineapple went ballistic over the preview for The Squeakquel…well, she didn’t disappoint when the movie arrived in the mail.

As soon as we put the film on and Alvin, Simon and Theodore appeared on screen, she started the squealing – and the dancing! She was jumping and jiving and bouncing around the living room and pausing every so often to squeal and scream and point at the “munk munks.” And even better? I wasn’t bored at all.

The Chipmunks are adorable…Alvin, Simon and – my favorite – Theodore. They are too cute for words and there are some really adorable, funny moments. The songs are great, too! Particularly when the Chipettes join the scene (I seriously cannot hear “Put a Ring On It” without hearing chipmunk squeaks!)

But my favorite song from the film is Alvin’s “cheeseballs” song, sung to the tune of “Stayin’ Alive.”

SIDE NOTE: We are referring to that song as “Tay Tay’s theme song” (that’s my niece) because Alvin sings about how delicious cheeseballs are and sings “Get in my belly – cheeseballs get in there!” Given that my niece has a hollow leg and can enjoy whatever the heck she wants to eat, she thinks this is hilarious!

Even though the chipmunks deal with some pretty difficult issues – like fitting in, popularity, double-crossing, missing parents, and other family problems – they are balanced by some equally silly moments – like the boys riding in the mixer as if it were a gravitron, and dutch ovens (Nooooo! Not the dutch oven!). The girls get sucked in by that ROTTEN Ian Hawke – he is a serious stinker – and despite warnings from the boys, they stick with him until they learn the hard way that he is a serious bad guy – THAT STINKER!

It’s a cute, fun movie. Don’t expect to experience any raw emotion (though you might feel some heartstring tugs when Theodore is left to sleep on his own while Alvin & Simin argue) but do expect some laughs and the undeniable urge to jump up and dance along with the “munk munks.” If you’re lucky, like me, you’ll hear some serious squealing from your wee one(s)!

Now on to the good part….want a copy? I KNOW you do! I’ve got 5 (count ’em 5) copies from Fox Home Entertainment to give away!!!

Entry is simple – just follow these steps:

  • Leave a comment about the film (have you already seen it? What did your kids think? Are your favorites the ChipMUNKs or ChipETTEs?) = 1 entry
  • Follow PineappleBabble on Twitter and/or let me know that you do = 1 entry
  • Become a fan of PineappleBabble on Facebook and/or let me know that you did = 1 entry
  • Friend PineappleBabble on Facebook and/or let me know that you did = 1 entry
  • Winners will be chosen on Saturday, April 3 using Randomizer so don’t forget to check back to see if you won!!!

    GOOD LUCK!

    XOXO Rachael

    UPDATE: Sorry I’m not getting the winners list up until today! The Easter bunny hijacked my weekend 😛 so without further ado….the winners are:

    • Commenter #40: Katie (Mostly-Mommy)
    • Commenter #71: Amber Porter (@skipthelaundry)
    • Commenter #19: Heather Garland (@hgarland)
    • Commenter #73: DEBIJOT (@debijot)
    • Commenter #6: Andrea Paetkau (@ampaetka)

    Shoot me an email with your deets (pababble (AT) gmail (DOT) com) and I’ll make sure you get your copy of the SQUEAKQUEL!

    CONGRATS!!!!

    83 thoughts on “The Chipmunks & Chipettes Will Rock You Like a Hurricane…or so I hear

    1. Andrea Paetkau says:

      My 2 1/2-year-old nephew loves this movie! He loves the Chipmunks and goes around repeating Alvin, saying, “Helllooooo Gorgeous!” It’s hilarious!

    2. Gregory Culp says:

      Actually worked as an animator on the film, but I haven’t seen the finished product yet! Would love a copy.

    3. Justine McD. says:

      I haven’t seen it yet but every time the commercial for it comes on my 3½yr old freaks out and jumps up and down, he wants to see it badly.

    4. Cheryl W says:

      We haven’t seen this movie. My daughter has been dying to see it. Her class took a field trip to see it, but unfortunately see didn’t get to go due to a schedule surgery she had. She was so bummed out! She love, love, loves the first movie and when she saw the commercial for the squeakquel she went berserk over the Chipette “Single Ladies” song, so I think she will be on Team Chipette, after seeing the movie. LOL

    5. anthy says:

      My niece loves this movie – she voted for it in the Nickelodeon Kid’s Choice awards and cheered so hard when it won! Me, I thought it was really cute, the music was fun, and I love Theodore.

      Thank you very much for the giveaway. 🙂

      anthy_stl [ATT] yahoo [DOTT] com

    6. Heather Garland says:

      Haven’t seen the film yet because we went to take both our kids, and it was sold out! So I had some pretty disappointed kids that day 😦 This would be great to win a copy! Our favorites are definitely the Chipmunks (Theodore especially cause he’s so cute & cuddly!). Thanks for the chance Rachel!!

    7. Cindy S. says:

      I’ve never seen this movie before! I have seen the first one and I enjoyed watching it! I’d love to watch this DVD! Thanks for the chance!

    8. I have seen both movies with my little sister (age six) who loves them both. I personally find them super corny/cheesy. But, they of course aren’t aimed at adults so, oh well, she loves them.

    9. Karin says:

      We haven’t seen it…..the chipmunks are our favorites here though.

      There are even Chipmunk drinking glasses in the house!

    10. fokxxy says:

      Have not seen this but my son really wants to! I liked the chipettes when I was younger.. but you can’t beat the original chipmunks!

    11. Michelle says:

      We have NOT seen it yet, despite much begging from the wee ones. I have a very fond spot in my heart for the ChipMUNKS.
      michelle dot lee dot carter at gmail dot com

    12. Trina C says:

      We did not get a chance to see the movie while it was in the theaters. That is why I would love to win this giveaway. We are starting a family movie night and this would be a great DVD to add to the collection. We love Theodore.
      couponsiwant(at)verizon(dot)net

    13. Susan says:

      I’m a fan of the Chipmunks. I’ve been watching them since I was a little girl.

      susan56bft at gmail dot com

    14. Amber Porter says:

      We loved the Chipmunks movie, of course my daughter loves the chipettes and all the single ladies song.

    15. DEBIJOT says:

      I took my grandson to see this movie. We loved it – the singing was great. I thought the Chipettes were so cute.

    16. tina says:

      My kids have been wanting to see this my son loves ChipMUNKs especially alvin and my daughter loves the ChipETTEs and the single ladies song shes 2 1/2 but cracks me up doing her hand.

    17. Haha! I love the “Side Note”…. Side-side note- I just ate wayyy too much strawberry cheesecake ice cream which feverishly watching liz and Max get dangerously close on Roswell. This episode is a little disturbing, yet SO entertaining. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    