Making Excuses

Parents are forever making excuses for their kids bad behavior in public: 

  • “Oh, he’s just tired.” (Actually, mommy and daddy are tired, but that’s a different post.)
  • “She’s teething – do you SEE those molars?! YOWZA!”
  • “He’s SO hungry – that’s why he just threw that slice of pizza and his sippy cup at your head.”
  • “She doesn’t like crowds – if it were less noisy, she’d be fine” (completely ignoring the fact that it is so loud because YOUR kid is screaminger her head off).

I know parents do this because I am a parent. I’ve personally pulled out some doozies to explain away why my adorable baby girl has just flung herself prone on the grocery store floor and is now kicking her legs and screaming because I wouldn’t allow her to knock over all the cereal boxes: “She’s gassy – that’s why she’s acting like this. Have you ever had bad gas? It’s painful. She just can’t articulate that.”

Yeah. Right.

And is it just me, or do you also break out into a cold sweat when your kid starts to lose it in the aisles at Target? I’ve literally had to refrain from quietly pushing my cart away from my screaming child while rolling my eyes and saying “geez…those parents are seriously falling down on the job!”

And on a plane ride?! Forget about it. I’ve never had more dirty looks than while boarding a plane with my child. It doesn’t matter if she’s sound asleep or smiling and waving, you can hear the passengers’ thoughts as though they were speech bubbles floating over their heads:

Something else about this public fit throwing – aside from the immediate cold sweat and OMG PLEASE STOP BEFORE I DIE sort of feelings you get during the BF (that’s Bitch Fit)…when your kid is totally losing it…and you’re panicking…then ANOTHER kid starts to lose it, your only thought is THANK YOU LORD!!!!! Because now, you’re sharing the embarrassment.

Parents are pretty good about saying “Oh, don’t worry – all kids do it. Don’t sweat it – it’s fine, we’re perfectly capable of ignoring your kids’ screams because we ignore ours all the time!” But the non-parents are just sitting there thinking FOR. THE. LOVE. Shut that kid up! Or better yet…”When I have kids, I’ll do it better than that!”

Suuuuure you will….see you on the flip side of parenting! I promise…I’ll be nice!

8 thoughts on “Making Excuses

    • EXACTLY, Janna! I know what a wonderful, sweet, loving, happy baby girl Pineapple is – and when she acts like that in public, I feel like that’s all people see: a screaming kid.

      Hope you are well! Miss you!

  1. I’m not a parent, but I do recognize that kids have melt-downs; the fits and wailing don’t usually bother me. (My baby sister was born when I was 15, so I have vivid nightmares memories of her BFs!!)

    What does irk me is when parents don’t act like parents while their kids are making it an unpleasant experience for everyone else: e.g. young person is running around the store (or restaurant or mall or wherever) shrieking, knocking things over and running into other patrons, while mommy or daddy is nowhere to be found or just ignoring the behavior. ARGH.

    I know parenting is hard, but this method of parenting strikes me as a bit negligent. At least where taking other people into consideration is concerned… 🙂

    • I totally agree! WHO ARE THOSE PARENTS! Certainly not me as I stroll a casual but still observable distance from my fit-throwing, screeching, hair-pulling toddler…nooooo….not me. 😉

      I actually do get it – joking aside – I always wondered about those parents casually strolling through Target, chatting with their friends while their child is having a full-blown melt down in the shopping cart. I remember a specific experience while I was preggo and saying to myself “NEVER will I let that happen.” Then Pineapple was born and I realized that sometimes your kid just acts AWFUL but you still have to buy milk and tampons (goodbye male readers – it was nice knowin’ ya). So you pretend it isn’t happening and try to get out QUICK! 😉

      Ahhhh – the joys of parenthood.

      Thanks for commenting, Zee – good to see you here again! 🙂

  2. As a non-parent, I mostly just think “thank goodness s/he’s not my responsibility”. Although on an aeroplane (or even a train) it can be very difficult if said child is trying to pull at your hair/earrings/sleeves…

    Visiting to welcome you to SITS 🙂

    • Thanks, Rachel! SITS is a great idea – I like it! 🙂

      I too have seen the children running up and down the aisles on the plane…sitting in strangers’ laps and stealing food from their trays…this hasn’t been my child…yet. 😉

Leave a Reply

