No Tank Yoo

Pineapple is opinionated. Oh, yes she is. She is so full of opinions that they are spilling out in the form of tantrums, hugs, and most often, the phrase “no, tank yoo.” (That’s Pineapple-ese for “No, thank you” in case you needed a translation.)

We hear the word “NO!” frequently. Only it’s more like “nooooooooooo” – this terrible drawn-out refusal to do what has been asked, eat what has been given, or stop doing what she shouldn’t. We’re hearing it so much that at this point, rather than telling her “you’d BETTER do it!” we simply say “it’s no, thank you, Pineapple.” To which she happily responds, “no, tank yoo.” See?! We’re totally picking our battles…I’m so thinking that we’ll win the war…cause you know, those are totally winnable…but I digress…

I’m not sure what sort of stick she sat upon in the recent weeks but this kid is driving me crazy. When she’s not screaming and having a fit or literally walking in circles whining, she’s moving items from one area to another. For example, I watched her spend 20 minutes the other day removing all of the items from her drawer and placing them in the living room…sorting them….then moving them all back to the drawer. I put my foot down when she started to repeat the process on another drawer.

And yesterday, when I was picking her up from daycare, there was a baby visiting – well, the baby was with its parent who was picking up an older sibling – and when I walked in the door, there was Pineapple, harrassing standing over a baby smiling up at me, pointing at said baby and exclaiming “yook buby!!!” (That’s Pineapple-ese for “Look Mom, there is the cutest baby RIGHT HERE! OMG I’m totally gonna hug and squish and squeeze it! Help me get it out of this binding device..I think it’s some sort of safety harness – oh no, it’s stuck! Look, there’s a baby!“) So when the baby, inevitably, left….well, how do I put this?…Pineapple totally lost it. Have you ever seen an angry monkey in the zoo flinging its poo at people? Well, we weren’t far  from a full-blown poo flingin.’ It was so bad that the caregiver looked at me with “pity face” and said “we have a time out corner if you’d like to use it.” Yeah…it was that bad. Apparently, Pineapple thought that particular baby should be going home with her. This is the same kid who looked at me as if I’d committed the ultimate betrayal when I held a baby at church on Easter Sunday…fickle kid.

I guess, to be fair, I should talk about some of her cuter recent moments…given that one day she’ll probably read this and all and it might save me at least a few dollars on the therapist’s chair:

  • The other day, she awoke at 5AM and I heard “mama – mama – mama” and found her standing in her bed, lifting out her blankie, reaching for me. It was early, so I put her in bed with DH and me. She promptly fell asleep. I woke up about 45 minutes later with a little hand wiggling around on my neck and a tiny voice saying “tick-oo, tick-oo, tick-oo.” (No translation necessary, I’m sure.) Needless to say, it was A-dorable.
  • We went to the local Farmer’s Market last Saturday and Pineapple accepted samples from nearly every vendor with a very clearly spoken and cuter-than-cute-can-be “tank yoo.” The vendors all responded with a resounding “she is soooo cute!” Well, duh. But we always take compliments!
  • The dog was barking the other day and Pineapple marched right up to him, put her tiny fists on her wee hips, shook her head, then waggled her finger at him saying, “no, no, no puppy!” *swoon*
  • She tries to say “I love you.” Enough said.

4 thoughts on “No Tank Yoo

  1. Aw! This sounds a lot like someone else I know….this week has been sheer insanity! The only pasttime of Rayna’s that doesn’t require me to be doing something completely obnoxious (like drawing a tree, over and over and over) is for her to take all of the clothes out of her dresser drawers. It’s either 5 minutes of peace while she trashes her room or deal with insanity.
    Did I mention that I’m going insane?
    lol
    But you’re right the “I love you” (or Wuff yooo) makes it pretty worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

