GIVEAWAY: HOORAY! Tooth Fairy and Flicka 2 are released!

Two SUPER FUN and FAMILY FRIENDLY movies are being released on DVD and Blu-Ray disc today from Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment: Tooth Fairy and Flicka 2.

In Tooth Fairy, Dwayne Johnson (aka The Rock – sorry, but he’ll always be The Rock to me) plays the role of a hard-hitting, teeth knocking hockey player turned tooth collector. When  minor-league hockey player Derek Thompson (played by Johnson) who goes by the moniker “The Toothfairy” (because of all the teeth he knocks out) dashes a sweet kiddo’s dreams, he is forced to “spend time in the penalty box” as a real, live Tooth Fairy in full fairy regalia – wings, wand, tutu, tights…you get the picture. During the process, he remembers why he started playing the game and reevaluates the direction his life has taken. It’s cute and fun – you won’t fall asleep watching it and younger kids will giggle themselves silly – OK, and mayb if you’re like me, you’ll giggle a lot, too, so sue me! – though it is definitely advanced for super little ones. Adding to the story’s inherent charm is a surprising cast including Julie Andrews and Ashley Judd (I just love her – she is gorgeous – I think if I could pick one celebrity to look like, it would be her.) It’s a really sweet movie – go out and get it…or keep reading, and maybe you’ll win one….

Also released today is Flicka 2. If you saw the original Flicka movie then you’ll know that this is a movie about horses. I can say, in no uncertain terms, that Pineapple LOVES horses. Loves them. I’m not sure if this is a girl thing or what but it seems to me that an inordinate amount of young girls really like horses – anybody else notice that? Anyway, although the storyline of this film – a young girl (played by Tammin Sursok) facing the challenge of relocating to a new town and redeveloping her relationship with her father (played by Patrick Warburton) finds an unlikely friend in untamable whild horse, Flicka – is much to advanced for Pineapple, she adores watching the scenes with the horses. And it’s no wonder – this movie is really beautiful. Some of the images are really stunning – picturesque – and you soon understand that director Michael Damian must have really devoted himself to bringing this movie to life.

I had a chance to sit down with Michael Damian (@MichaelDamian1) at the Mom 2.0 Summit this past February where they were presenting a mini-screening of the film to wide praise by the audience:

Me: What made you decide to revisit the story of Flicka?

MD: I wanted to bring this story to a new generation in a fresh, new way but still keep the heart and soul of the orginal Flicka film. It’s a good message…there are challenges in life but in the end…the characters all find their way. It’s about family, forgiveness and hope and Flicka is the catalyst.

Me: What was your favorite scene to shoot?

MD: Definitely the scene with the cherry blossoms. We put a lot of work into getting that specific moment…we had to wait for just the right time for the sun to be right and the blossoms to be falling. Another was the stampede scene. There were over 110 horses just running…it was incredible.

Me: I know they say you should never work with animals or babies in film…horses are really big animals…how did that go?

MD: You really learn to trust the trainers. There were scenes where the horse would run right up on Tammin (Carrie) and she was so brave…she would just stand there…she trusted that the trainers would take care of everything and it made for some amazing shots. It was fun.

Me: Thanks for chatting with me…oh….and sorry for this but….ROCK ON!

MD: ROCK ON! (Clearly, he was a very good sport.)

I highly suggest Flica 2. It really is a beautiful film along the same vein as the classic horse and their girl stories…those are stories that we all grew up with and this new twist on a classic tale is truly very well done. We’ll be enjoying this film for a long time to come, I’m sure, as Pineapple really grows into it.

So, now here comes the fun part…since Fox was kind enough to share the movies with me, I thought it would be great to share them with you – and they agreed! WOO-HOO! They’re letting me give away 2 of EACH movie!

And, I’ve decided to get back to the basics and make this process as simple as possible; all you have to do to be entered is leave a comment. That’s it. Leave a comment and let me know which movie you’d like to see and why and you’re entered to win.

If you’d like EXTRA entries, follow me on Twitter (@PineappleBabble) and/or let me know you do, and become a fan of PineappleBabble on Facebook (just click this link). Simple, right?! UPDATE: Oh yeah…should probably say winners will be selected on Sunday, May 9 using Randomizer. 🙂

So, which movie would YOU like to share with your family? It’s a tough choice, I know.

WINNERS HAVE BEEN SELECTED!!! Who pray tell??? Winners of Tooth Fairy: Commenter #2 – Gingermommy and #4 – Gingermommy – YES, you win 2 COPIES! (it’s random, folks!). Winners of Flicka 2: Commenter #9 – Heather G (seriously, you are one of the luckiest people I know) and #5 – Janna @Adventures of Motherhood (YAY! I’m so glad you won! You’ve entered so many times! 🙂 I hope you enjoy it!)

SO CONGRATS WINNERS! 🙂 Visit again soon for my next giveaway…it involves cookies. Nuff said.

12 thoughts on “GIVEAWAY: HOORAY! Tooth Fairy and Flicka 2 are released!

  1. FOKXXY says:

    Honestly, I have to go with Tooth Fairy. I have always had a soft spot for The Rock! (“Do you smell what The Rock is cookin’?? “) hahahaha

    I think this movie looks cute and my son and I would love to see it!

    Thank you!

  2. Heather G says:

    I have a 10 yr old daughter who absolutely LOVES horses and this movie sounds fantastic for us to watch together for some quality family time! Thanks for the chance!!!

Leave a Reply

