Fleas = The Devil

My dog has fleeeeeeeeeas….so does my caaaaaaaaaat. *GROAN*

A couple of days ago, I noticed our wee dog, Giles (prounounced JIles – like on BuffyTVS and yes, named after her watcher, but I digress) was scratching his tummy a lot. I didn’t think too much of it because he’s little and silly and a dog. Yesterday, I noticed him doing it again and I looked at his tummy. It was all red and irritated and I thought, “well, he just needs a bath – he’s gotten into something itchy.” (sooooo naive...)

So DH and Pineapple decided to give him a bath. They hauled him into the tub…and I went in the living room to take advantage of the (relative) quiet and watch Vampire Diaries because I’m fully into television programming that helps me to expand my knowledge base and grow as a person. So, I’m enjoying the historical perspective that the examination of teenage vampire angst provides and I hear “RACHAEL!!!!!” from the bathroom. I leapt up (almost like a vampire – I was THAT fast) and ran to the bathroom.

DH had a panicked look…and said that dreaded word…..FLEAS.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I screamed.

YES! he shouted.

DOGGIE!!!! contributed Pineapple…followed by giggles because the doggie was all wet.

I ran downstairs to pilfer through our pet supplies only to find we had NO flea shampoo. That’s when I thought about the stupid cat. I looked over toward her area in the garage and thought…if GILES has them then that stupid annoying EYRIE cat must have them, too. In fact, Giles probably GOT them from the stupid cat. So, I gathered up all of her bedding and comfies and I tossed them, along with the dog bed, into the wash with about a bottle and a half of bleach and hit the HOT button. I then hollered up to DH explaining that I was on a flea-busting product-purchasing mission and would be back pronto, ran to the car and sped out of the driveway.

TWO stores later, I had $45 worth of crap for cleaning fleas off of animals. I got home to find DH and Pineapple eating dinner and a soggy dog trapped in the bathtub. DH finished up and then went back in to tackle the dog and I went on a stupid cat hunting expedition outside. Pineapple and I called and called for that cat. Usually, you can’t get rid of her – she meows outside of the door and then from the inside once she’s ready to get back out (which is approximately 30 seconds after she’s been let in) and so on, and so forth. We finally tracked her down just as Giles was finishing up and I unceremoniously dumped her into the bathroom. Pineapple was squealing at the dog as he ran around the room shaking and rubbing and rolling when the cat started screeching. The cat meowed LOUDLY and in a PANICKED tone while Pineapple whimpered and said “OH NOOOO – meow meow!!!” and I giggled. And laughed. And had evil thoughts about the cat getting exactly what she deserved….and I was just thinking to myself “I am a terrible person” when I heard laughter coming from the bathroom. Seems that DH thought the cat was getting a bit of what she deserved, as well.

Why is that you ask? Because fleas = the devil. And the cat being evil annoying as hell is most likely the cause of those fleas being an issue at all in our home.

With that being said…anybody want a cat? She’s black and fluffy. Has no manners. Yowls at any closed door. Once inside the home finds the cleanest, whitest, most inappropriate surface to lounge on (most often, Pineapple’s bed – I do a LOT of sheet washing). She sheds like a fiend and when she’s not shedding, barfs hairballs all over the place; despite the fact that we buy her that expensive no hairball food. In other words…she’s a GEM.

Darned cat!

8 thoughts on “Fleas = The Devil

  1. Oh hai, I wrote this post YESTERDAY.

    Those flea shampoos? USELESS. I’ve washed both cats and the dog every three days for two weeks and if anything all its done is get more fleas on ME rather than just on the pets. Yesterday we loaded up on Advantinx, bug bombed the house and washed every linen and pillow we own. Today I am gleefully combing dead fleas off the dog and cackling at my victory. Tomorrow I will probably start all over again when the flea eggs hatch. THEY ARE THE DEVIL.

    P.S. If anyone decides they want not just your delightful cat but two more (one of which hates men and pees on their belongings) let me know. I will ship them anywhere.

    • LOL! I think we should create a home for ornery cats who disobey and bring home vermin. They can all live together and leave us alone! I’m terrified of bugs – and so is DH. As soon as we saw that first little creepy crawly we bathed, brushed, sprayed, collared, and put drops all over the animals and then sprayed and vacuumed the floors. It’s SO GROSS. I hate bugs but fleas…FOR. THE. LOVE.

      It’s us against the fleas, Suzanne. The battle is on. WE SHALL BE VICTORIOUS!

  2. Jenny says:

    Jason and I have three cats and the only thing I’ve found to combat disgusting, awful flea infestations is CONSISTENT use of either advantage or frontline. We absolutely must put this on our pets every month, without fail, even in the winter, or one of them will bring fleas into the house. This flea medicine absorbs through the skin into the bloodstream so that whenever a flea bites the pet, it gets poisoned and dies. It will linger for about a month and continue killing the new fleas that hatched from eggs. I hate to put poison on my pets but this is the only thing that works for us. One of our cats is actually allergic to flea bites and begins to pull out his own hair and gets icky red bumpy skin unless we put him on allergy medicine, which he loves, by the way! Good luck! I recommend ordering 3 or 6 month packs of flea medicine from Amazon.com, they have the best prices, because this stuff isn’t cheap.

    • Ohhh – thanks for the Amazon tip, Jenny – I Amazon – it’s my #1 shopping spot!

      *sigh* This is the first time we’ve ever had fleas. I thought it was too cold for these suckers! WHAT THE HECK?!

      Thanks for commenting!

  3. Sarah says:

    I agree with Jenny on the need for conisistent Advantage or Frontline. Flea combing is also effective although you have to make sure you have soapy water really close nearby to plunge the comb in b/c those buggers are quick little bastards.

    • We’re trying everything but I’m starting to be worried that he might be getting sick…overdosed. :S We’re gonna lay off of him for a few days…poor little pupster….but that cat’s in for it! 😛

Leave a Reply

